Fabrication of High-performance Carbon Counter Electrode for Dye-sensitized Solar Cells

염료감응 태양전지용 고성능 탄소 상대전극 제작

  • Jang, Yeon-Ik (Nano-materials Research Division, Korea Institute of Science and Technology) ;
  • Lee, Seung-Yong (Nano-materials Research Division, Korea Institute of Science and Technology) ;
  • Kim, Dong-Hwan (Department of material Science and Engineering, Korea University) ;
  • Park, Jong-Ku (Nano-materials Research Division, Korea Institute of Science and Technology)
  • 장연익 (한국과학기술연구원 나노과학연구본부) ;
  • 이승용 (한국과학기술연구원 나노과학연구본부) ;
  • 김동환 (고려대학교 신소재공학과) ;
  • 박종구 (한국과학기술연구원 나노과학연구본부)
  • Published : 2007.02.28


In the fabrication of dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSCs), carbon counter electrode has been tested for replacing the platinum counter electrode which has two drawbacks: limited surface area and high material cost. Poor mechanical stability of carbon layer due to weak bonding strength to electrically conductive TCO (transparent conducting oxide) glass substrate is a crucial barrier for practical application of carbon counter electrode. In the present study a carbon counter electrode with high conversion efficiency, comparable to Pt counter electrode, could be fabricated by adaption of a bonding layer between particulate carbon material and TCO substrate.


  1. B. O'Regan and M. Grtzel: Nature 353 (1991) 737
  2. M.K. Nazeeruddin, A. Kay, I. Rodicio, R. Humphry-Baker, E. Muller, P. Liska, N. Vlachopoulos and M. Grtzel: J. Am. Chem. Soc. 115 (1993) 6382
  3. M. Grzel: J. Photochem. Photobiol., A, 164 (2004)3
  4. Z. Xu, X. Zou, X. Zhou, B. Zhao, C. Wang, and Y. Hamakawa: J. Appl. Phys., 75 (1994) 588
  5. A. Kay and M. Grtzel: Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells, 44 (1996) 99
  6. E. Olsen, G. Hagen, and S. E. Lindquist: Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells, 63 (2000) 267
  7. H.S. Wroblowa and A. Saunders: Electroanal. Chem. Interf. Electrochem. 42 (1973) 329
  8. M.R. Tarasevich and E.I. Khrushcheva: in: B.E. Conway, J. O'M. Bockris and R.E. White (Eds.), Modern Aspects of Electrochemistry, Vol. 19 (plenum press, New York, 1989) 295
  9. K. Suzuki, M. Yamamoto, M. Kumagai, and S. Yanagida: Chem. Lett., 32 (2003) 28
  10. H. Lindstrom, A. Holmberg, E. Magnusson, S. E. Lindquist, L. Malmqvist, and A. Hagfeld: Nano Lett., 1 (2001) 97
  11. K. Imoto, K. Takahashi, T. Yamaguchi, T. Komura, J. Nakamura, K. Murata: Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells, 79 (2003) 459
  12. Zhen. Huang, Xizhe Liu, Kexin Li, Dongmei Li, Yanhong Luo, Hong Li, Wenbo Song, LiQuan Chen, Qingbo Meng: Electrochemistry Communications 9 (2007) 596
  13. Takurou N. Murakami, Seigo Ito, Qing Wang, Md. Khaja Nazeeruddin, Takeru Bessho, Ilkay Cesar, Paul Liska, Robin Humphry-Baker, Pascal Comte, Peter Pechy, and Michael Grtzel: Journal of Electrochemical Society, 153 (2006) A2255
  14. S. Ito, M. K. Nazeeruddin, P. Liska, P. Comte, R. Charvet, P. Pechy, M. Jirousda, A. Kay, S. M. Zakeeruddin, and M. Grtzel: Prog. Photovoltaics, In press
  15. T. Toyoda, T. Sano, J. Nakajima, S. Doi, S. Fukumoto, A. Ito, T. Tohyama, M. Yoshida, T. Kanagawa, T. Motohiro, T. Shiga, K. Higuchi, H. Tanaka, Y. Takeda, T. Fukano, N. Katoh, A. Takeichi, K. Takechi, and M. Shiozawa: J. Photochem. Photobiol., A, 164 (2004)187