Stratigraphy and Metamorphism of Seosan Group

서산층군(瑞山層群)의 층서(層序) 및 변성작용(變成作用)

  • 나기창 (충북대학교 지구과학교육과) ;
  • 김형식 (고려대학교 지질학과) ;
  • 이상헌 (강원대학교 지질학과)
  • Published : 1982.03.31


The Seosan Group in the Taean peninsular can be divided into Seosan formation and Daesan formation according to its metamorphism and stratigraphy. The Seosan formation is composed of iron bearing quartzite and schist which are strongly metamorphosed and migmatized about 2572 m.y.ago. The Daesan formation is composed mainly of quartzite and crystalline limestone. They were intruded by granite gneiss 2370m.y ago and metamorphosed two or three times before Jurassic Period. The Group is overlain by Taean formation which shows low grade metamorphism. Total three times metamorphic events can be recognized in these areas. First and second metamorphisms are predominent in amphibolite facies, the last metamolphism is mostly greenschist facies.